When you sync an iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad with iTunes on your computer, the software will first check for changes and then create a full backup if it finds any. If all you wanted to do was copy a song or two, or transfer an app to your mobile device, this can be a bit of a pain in the behind since the backups can take a while to complete.

But there’s a PC application that you can use to disable these automatic backups. It’s called iPhone Backup Switch, and it’s pretty simple to use. Run it once and click the button that says “Disable iPhone Backup in iTunes” and next time you synchronize your mobile device, iTunes will skip the backup and go straight to synchronizing your media and apps. Want to start doing backups again? Run the program again and hit the Enable button.

That’s all there is to it. Bear in mind, it can be helpful to maintain a recent backup of your device in case anything happens and you need to restore your mobile device to a previous state. But that doesn’t mean you should have to make a full backup every time you plug in you device.

via Freeware Genius

Brad Linder

Brad Linder is editor of Liliputing and Mobiputing.He's been tinkering with mobile tech for decades and writing about it since...